Challenge No2 – Completed

Challenge No. 2 – No Sweets for 30 days

Began: 9th July 2017

Ended: 7th August 2017

Hurdles encountered: Week away on holiday

This feels like it was a rather mashed up challenge with going away for a week in the middle of it.  However, although I’ve not been perfect I have now completed the challenge.

Aside from the week where I only ate chocolate three evenings I didn’t do too badly.  Apart from two failings (as I see them because they are).

One was when I ended up buying a bag of Grasmere’s world renowned ginger biscuits and I began to have a biscuit every afternoon with a cup of tea without even thinking about it.  When I say biscuit, they are not small!  I actually got to day four before I suddenly realised I was no longer on holiday!  So the three plus the four took me to the seven I’d given myself leniency for.

The other issue came after we had a water leak in our kitchen.  The plumber came on a Saturday and was busy fixing the leak quite late into the evening.  I was getting so fed up mid afternoon by holes being made in ceilings, and hungry that because I couldn’t get into the kitchen to grab a snack I went into the lounge instead and polished off the remaining chocolate from the holiday stash!

Results

Do I feel any different from cutting down on the sweets at all?  Short answer is no.

Have I lost any weight.  No.

By removing sweets and sweet like food at weeks at a time I didn’t lose weight, even with an added reduction of alcohol consumption.   That above all else is really frustrating but it also tells me that cutting anything out needs to happen over a longer period of time to enable my body to adjust to the change.

Changing the habit of using chocolate as a go-to when I’m really craving it has been the biggest change for me this last month.  Rather than buying chocolate I find myself buying a lot more fruit.  Anytime I even think about chocolate I grab either an apple of a nectarine.  At work, I make sure to take at least two pieces of fruit with me so I can still have the argument in my head to just go and get a chocolate bar but actually, that wouldn’t be a great idea because sat in front of me is an apple.  I can’t talk myself out of that answer very easily.  So far it’s worked.

Fruit as a chocolate substitute has worked and eating the fruit has actually made me feel better.  It’s just ensuring that I remember to buy enough fruit on a weekly basis.  It takes a little planning to ensure I not only get enough but a variety (so I don’t get bored), but it does seem to be working.

Challenge No.3 – No processed food

This is going to be tricky.

First of all, I need a list to guide me.  So this is my processed list of food I shall be avoiding for the next 30 days:

  1. Crisps
  2. Chips
  3. Shop bought dips
  4. Sweets of any description (inc biscuits)
  5. Fizzy drinks
  6. Cheese
  7. Breakfast cereal
  8. Mayonnaise
  9. Fruit juice

Food I’m not cutting out:

  1. Almond milk
  2. Sugar
  3. Bread (white and brown)
  4. Olive oil
  5. Soya products

Things I don’t eat anymore (so don’t need to cut out):

  1. Bacon
  2. Lunch meats
  3. Milk
  4. Frozen meals

Out of the top list, crisps and mayonnaise will be the hardest to quit.  My weekends currently consist of crisps and dip and a film.  So I’ll need to exchange this feel good activity with something more healthy.   Also, I slather my potatoes in mayo which I recently substituted for butter.  Neither are healthy or plant-based.  I’m going to have to drop mayo at some point but it’s trying to find a substitute (no, not the vegan ones as they don’t taste good).  Also, I’ve recently discovered tuna and mayo sandwiches which I fell in love with quite quickly.  Again, not an ideal habit to maintain for a lunch (although I’d argue still better than ham), so I need to look for a decent alternative.

This is certainly going to be an interesting 30 days!  For this challenge I need to prepare so I’m not starting until Saturday, once the weekly shop is completed.

Challenge No. 3 – No Processed foods for 30 days

Begin: 19th August 2017

Ended: 17th September 2017

Leave a Reply

