Challenge No.3 – Ended

Begin: 19th August 2017

Ended: 17th September 2017

This challenge has now come to an end but I can’t say I completed it fully.  Or even come close.

Processed list of food I said I would be avoiding for the next 30 days:

  • Crisps
  • Chips
  • Shop bought dips
  • Sweets of any description (inc biscuits)
  • Fizzy drinks
  • Cheese
  • Breakfast cereal
  • Mayonnaise
  • Fruit juice

I’ve actually had every single one of those foods over the past four weeks.  Damn!

What happened?

Life mostly but also the sheer amount of dedication it took to avoid these foods was simply too hard.  Of course, this is a lame excuse and worse still, I’ve not lost any weight.

I’ve gone through quite an interesting four weeks battling with myself.  I’ve learnt that I use these kinds of food when I can’t be bothered to deal with my feelings, or emotions or just any work that was deemed too difficult or complicated.  I used these foods as rewards for eventually doing said hard work and/or dealing with emotions.

Even preparing dinner sometimes was said hard work and the easiest solution to that problem was to always turn to convenience food.

I can see the various cycles around these types of food really clearly – I just can’t break it.

I’m not eating convenience meals on mass every day but I am turning to them (mostly at meal times) to save me cooking or having to prep foods for every meal.

And to be honest with myself I’m eating enough convenience food not to lose weight.  There is no point denying it.  The whole idea of me doing these challenges is to lose, and not gain.  And while I’ve not gained, I’m not loosing which is really the most important issue here.

I’m stuck!

As an added bonus, I can feel myself easing further towards 100% plant-based eating.  It’s happening and I’m really pleased about that.  Unfortunately, I’m at the stage where it’s so easy to eat junk food and I can justify it because it’s vegan.

What is the solution?

What am I planning on doing now?  I don’t know.

I know I eat better when I have more time to plan and prepare food.  But I’ll always be busy.  Said hard work won’t be going away anytime soon.  I need to find a way of dealing with the cycles of eating convenience food in a different way when I’m busy, tired, fed-up or pleased with myself.  Also, just because I say I won’t eat something does not mean I won’t eat said thing because my mind tells me otherwise.  I’m also pretty sure now that just trying to say no or consistently saying no isn’t going to be enough either.  Doing that is wearisome in itself.

I need a new battle plan.

First off I need to spend time educating myself on my habit cycles around these types of foods.

Secondly trying to replace the bad habits with good ones will only work if I’m prepped enough with the good foods!  I need to be ready for every eventuality with convenient foods which is going to take me longer than expected.

So, I’m working on a new plan ready to start on 1st October.  It still won’t be easy but I’ve got to keep trying!

I also think extra (external) support would be beneficial so I shall be looking into this as well.

Watch this space for further updates…

Leave a Reply

