End of the Day Thoughts

It’s nearly 9pm and the first chance I’ve had to start writing today. Not from lack of trying but every time I attempted to turn my laptop on I got pulled away again by one job or another.  So it wasn’t to be today.  But, I’m here now and I’m trying to think of something witty to share but it’s not happening.

I took the Jack out for a walk this evening, the first walk in the dark.  I thought she might not like it (she doesn’t always like walking in the dark), but she was trotting all the way around the village without stopping.  She thoroughly enjoyed herself which is about right with her.  If I try and take her out every night she gets fed up and digs her heels (paws) in and won’t go.  But if she hasn’t been out for a walk in a few days she’s raring to go.  The thing with Mouse is she just loves variety.  The minute anything becomes routine she gets bored.  Mouse has to be entertained every single day!  I’ve never met a dog like her but that’s Jacks for you.  Crazy and lovable all at the same time.  The only exception to the routine thing is her food.  She knows what time her meals are and every night at 8pm she knows it’s dental stick chew time and she’ll literally bark at me while trampling over everything and everybody until I go to the tin to get it for her.

She’s asleep on the sofa now quite happy, and quiet.  I love her to bits.  She has the spirit the size of a tiger.

The fire is lit and is warming us after being outside.  It definitely feels like autumn is here.  But I’m still positive about it.  This morning I took Minnie Moo for a walk and I saw not just one but TWO kingfishers less than 100m from each other.  They are the first ones I’ve seen along this stretch of walk since moving to the village.  I was grinning from ear to ear all the way home.  I knew there must be some because people had spoken about them and a nearby house is even called “Kingfisher Lodge” but I’ve never actually seen any – until this morning.  The light was just right and as the leaf colour starts to fade their feathers really stood out to spot.  So for once, I was happy for Autumn.  Now all I’ve got to do is catch them on my camera.  There lies a challenge!

Thank you for reading.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.