Writing Achievements W/e 6th October 2019

It’s been a bit of a tough week – mentally rather than being overly busy.  I can feel myself beginning to struggle with the change of the season.  As much as I’ve been working to stay focussed I have procrastinated on more than one occasion this week.  It’s been far easier to spend time scrolling through social media than reading a book.

But I have been writing and spending time on plans for some other writing ideas as well this week so it hasn’t been all bad.  And I’ve had another week of uninterrupted posting on my blog which I’m pleased about.    Exploring my voice amongst a few themes and reflections is definitely helping me shape my writing.  I know what I like writing about and through this process I also know what I need to improve on.  “Green themes” are a real passion for me, mixed in with a bit of humour and the chance to share what I’ve learnt along my greener journey.

Putting that into something more constructive just hasn’t quite happened yet and that is making me slightly frustrated.  But I’m not giving up.  I’m happy to see where this journey takes me.  And I’m only on day 79.

What am I reading?

  • Recollections of a Tour Made in Scotland A.D 1803 by Dorothy Wordsworth
  • Crabwalk by Günter Grass
  • The Echoing Grove by Rosamond Lehmann

Yup, still on the same books.  I just need to be more focussed next week and get more reading completed.  It’s not like I haven’t time to read because I certainly have but I’m using that time to scroll through social media because I’m getting so easily distracted by other people’s opinions – some of which I agree with but others that wind me up no-end just before I’m about to get to sleep which isn’t conducive to a good night.

Very often I’m finding myself shooting down one rabbit hole or another to do nothing but prove that some people are portrayed (online) just how I expect them to be based on what they have said.  It hardly ever fails.  Why do I do this?  To prove to myself that I am better than them?  That their opinions and values don’t matter?  With some, I’d say yes but I don’t think of them as people – online is another world and people behave completely differently in real life.  I would certainly not judge as I do in real life so why do I do it in the cyber world?  I think because it’s so easy to do.

Some accounts are put on social media to do nothing but poke and prod you.  They are deliberately controversial – whichever side of a political or cultural fence you happen to be standing on.   I get so bogged down by it.  I leap from one account to another constantly being shown that some accounts are on the rediculous while others on what I believe to be a misguided path (which I know makes me sound holier than thou).  But I can’t not be on a side.  Sometimes it’s too easy to pick a side while with other cultural affairs and political arenas is a bit more challenging.

The fact you have to pick a side at all shows what worrying times we find ourselves in but it’s got to a point where I have to chose because I want to be on the right side of history.  I never want to look back and think I was in support of anything detrimental to people and things that really matter to me.  And I’m not talking about the local things – I’m talking the national, international, generations that come after me kid of things.   Along the way I like to think I’m learning and hopefully able to share my learnings as I go.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.