Not Much

I’ll be honest I’m only writing these words tonight to make sure you and I both know that I’ve checked in and have completed some writing.

But rather annoyingly I’m slightly under the weather (migraine).  Thinking is genuinely hurting today.  So instead this is a bit of a free flow writing exercise tonight.

Problem is I can’t even think of anything from which to start from.  Weather boring, work is done, pups asleep and I’ve eaten two of the most delicious chocolate chip cookies which certainly goes against what I should be eating.

Talking of eating I am planning on cutting my white carbs down again.  I didn’t keep it going long enough last time because I didn’t realise how reliant I had been on them and I’m not even talking about the really bad white carbs.  Oats and museli are a stable.  It’s quite difficult to find alternatives for a breakfast that don’t include either nuts or eggs.  Lunch is slightly easier – salads, soups and stews are all great for this time of year.

I’ve looked for some inspiring recipes online but American cuisine can look rather alien to me.  waffles?  Grits?  what?  And if I aim to replace the oats for either veggies or Quorn for breakfast both take time to cook – which is the exact same time you haven’t got time to be cooking.  Our Western lives have been set up in such a way that you have to have a grab and go breakfast (or don’t bother at all).  Toast, cereal, these are all quick solutions and even oats can be soaked beforehand to speed up cooking.

I’ve tried intermittent fasting to forego breakfast but this doesn’t work.  Breakfast is ingrained in my being.  Ever since being a child my mum would always make sure I’d have breakfast before going to school and even now I feel a strange sense of desperation if I don’t eat something before work.

Carbs themselves aren’t bad – they are great (in most instances).  The problem is they work too well.  And it takes me ages to burn them off which means my weight is getting stuck.  As soon as I eliminate the worst offenders in the food world my body seems to relax and get on burning as it should.

I certainly don’t want to cut carbs altogether.  This isn’t about carb bashing.  Lentils, beans, berries, leafy veg and salad are certainly not off the menu.

But it’s planning the meals that are taking the time and today I just haven’t got the energy.  Best get some sleep.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.