48 Hours of Fasting and Counting

Gosh it’s been a long day. But I’m still in my fast. I am extremely tired though. Not because I’m fasting but because I had two pooches who stuck to me in bed last night and gave me less than 4hrs sleep.

The weather took a bit of a dive overnight. Mouse, my Jack Russell always sleeps under the cover by my legs but decided to settle in between my legs in a doughnut shape.

Minnie, my Rommie rescue, who has a perfectly good bed in the floor, jumped on the bed at about 2:30am, settled herself right in the middle of the bed, up by the pillows and proceeded to nudge my arm and paw me until I put my arm around her.

While that all sounds lovely it didn’t leave me much room. And I don’t know about anyone else but I struggle to sleep comfortable on my back.

I’m not considered the pack leader in our house. My dogs think of me simply as one of the pack. And when it gets cold the pack have to huddle together. So there I was, a puppy sandwich, wide awake with no room to move.

But Minnie and Mouse were warm. I was boiling, pinned in under the winter duvet. But the pups never moved. In fact they seemed (from what I could see in the darkened room), pretty content.

So while I moaned and felt mostly like I’d been out on the town boozing it up all night, I don’t mind that much. If anything I feel extremely lucky that they both chose me to snuggle up with.I

And while I have defiantly told all who will listen today that I vow to head into the spare room if I get a repeat of last night don’t hold me to it.

I think it’s going to be another cold night.

Thank you for reading.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.