Writing Achievements – W/e 25th April 2021

It’s been a good week for writing again.  I finally managed to find a solution to my WordPress woes and all is right in the writing sense again.  Goodbye block editor, hello old classic friend.

Silly, I know but it feels like a light has gone on and I can see again.  Also, it is annoying because when you get used to using software in such a way it can be a real wrench when it suddenly changes.  Some software, like this one is more of an old friend. One I share a lot of tales with, one I rely on.  One that has always been there for me.  To have it go off and do its “own thing” made me feel rather more than just disappointed.  I have felt bereft.

But, here I am.  We’ve worked through our differences and come to a solution.  It’s all good again.  Long may it continue.

Having got my friend back, as it was, I’ve been able to write quite a bit this week.  The block  had at being able to spend so much time in front of a computer/laptop etc has been worked through.  I’ve made space for writing and also given space to have a break from the screen too.  This, I have found, is much easier to do when the days are longer – at least longer with light.  Sitting in front of a screen, cooped up day after day indoors is not as nice as breaking the day up with some of the time spent outside, in the sunshine.  Nothing is more appealing to me than being able to type outside.

The second block I had, back in Feb, about my novel has also been worked through. I’m no longer trying so hard to push ideas about the novel that made me frustrated because they never came.  Instead, I let my thoughts flow around shorter stories and non-fiction ideas.  In doing so ideas about the novel came naturally, without hurry.  Funny how a brain works like that.

With the change of season it’s also meant I’ve been able to spend more time in the garden working with my hands which I adore.  And just simply the act of moving between manual work and online work has made writing that much easier every day.  So far in April I’ve written on 17 days.  That’s over half the month which I’m pleased about.

What am I currently reading?

I’ve been steadily reading a novel a month.  It’s not quite as hard to focus as it was but it can still be challenging to make time to read.

At the moment I’m reading The Map of Love by Ahdaf Soueif.  It should be an extremely complicated read because it spans not only multiple countries but numerous relationships across a huge time period.  But instead, it’s a wonderful read full of engaging characters and beautiful words.  I’m learning a lot about Egypt in the process as well.  It’s a book from the Guardian’s top 1,000 list.  I can see why it made the list.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.