Back Again

You might have been wondering where I’ve been and why I haven’t been posting?  Or, you may not…

But if you have…

I have been about tinkering on the edges of blogging.

I found the extended lockdown took more out of me (mentally) than first thought.  I couldn’t concentrate on much at all and the flow of typing words together was rather hard to do.  Every time I’d start a post it would just end up being a moaning fest, or worse – just nothing, a blank page.  I was all out of ideas.  And that’s no good.

I also got thoroughly fed up with the changes that WordPress had implemented with regard to their editing software.  What used to be a simple screen to input words was now called “blocks” with too many distractions (and I didn’t need much distracting in the first place).

I did eventually found a solution to the WordPress issue and can say that for now at least, it’s a nicer place for me to write.  So, I spent a bit of time writing “my why” for blogging which you’ll find here – https://sophiejayhudson.wordpress.com/

And in between all that I’ve spent quite some time re-designing the food area of the garden.  Something that definitely needs sharing, as I’m rather impressed with how it’s coming along.

The last lockdown, which the UK is only now really coming out of has taken months.  For someone that quite enjoyed lockdowns, even I found myself getting frustrated.  Not least because the weather hasn’t been on our side this year.  Last year it was all sun and sun and sun.  This Spring it’s been rain, wind, hailstones, frosts and more rain.  In typical British fashion, we’re now at the stage of ditching weather forecasts and instead opting to put on several layers of clothes in preparation for all kinds of weather.

I think because COVID was so new and unknown last year it created a different mindset.  This year people are weary from all the intense work.  Work for some hasn’t stopped or taken a break.    Add that on top of family/friends you can’t see and places you can’t go to it just added to the frustration.  But not despair.  We all know the solutions are well underway.  Once the majority of the UK (and the world) is vaccinated, then things will return to a state of normality (even if that word fills me with dread), and in fact, it’s already happening.

As from Monday, we’ll be able to go in-to pubs together and drink together.  As well as restaurants and cinemas and all sorts of places we shall be able to visit that we used to take for granted.

My introverted side won’t be looking forward to some of the social aspects returning.  I’ve made a vow to myself, that if it’s something I really don’t want to be a part of to say “no” from now on.   Instead of spending far too much time in my head trying to make up excuses and still ending up going because of feeling too guilty if I don’t.

I’ve also made a commitment to make hiking a bigger part of my life.  I love walking, so why not make it more important?

On top of that gardening is still my go-to place for everything.  I’m writing this in the garden.  Even when the weather is a bit iffy I still try and sit out as much as possible in the garden.  The bird song at this time of year is incredible to hear.

As well as growing lots of veg this year I’m also experimenting with cut flowers.  I’ve grown some different varieties from seed and am hoping to create a bed full of cut flowers later on in the summer.

And, I need to get on with my writing, specifically blogging.  It always – ALWAYS falls to the wayside.  Walking doesn’t, gardening doesn’t and my daily work doesn’t, but blogging always does.

I have tried various ways of making writing time just as important as other areas in my life, but it just doesn’t seem to fit in in quite the same way.  But, I will continue to work on that too.

If I can make this blogging malarky just as important, you’ll see me again soon.  If I can’t I’ll be back just as soon as I can.

Thank you for reading.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.