Day One

Starting weight: 182lbs (82.5kg)

Goal weight: 154lbs (74.28kg)

Every journey starts with a step, isn’t that right?  So, I thought it only right to document my first step.  It wasn’t anything to get excited about but more the fact that my intention is right where it needs to be.

I’m in the zone!

Day one- complete.  Many, many more days to go but I’m not thinking of those because they haven’t happened yet.  Tomorrow is another day but for today I’ve eaten right and got my mind focussed to get on with the job in hand.

I’m starting this journey weighing the heaviest I’ve ever weighed.  It’s frustrating because I’ve tried so many ways to lose weight over the years and nothing has worked, or when it has I haven’t been able to stay consistent with it.  I thought when I lost weight the first time I wouldn’t have to worry about it anymore.  That I’d built up enough healthy habits to sustain me but life just gets in the way and the lure of crisps can be too hard sometimes.  I thought to myself that because I eat relatively healthy then I wouldn’t put on weight.  I don’t eat much junk food and I cook most meals from scratch.  I love fruit and vegetables and I love walking so why was I still putting on weight?  Mentally I guess I thought I was doing enough but clearly not.

But today, there were no negative thoughts – today was different.  I ate good food, not too much and drank plenty of water.  Job done, easy.  I enjoyed the meals and didn’t even need the built-in snacks of nuts/fruit today.

Tomorrow is the first day of my running challenge.  I can hear the wind starting to howl…

Thank you for reading.

Photo credit – Walrus (unknown)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.