Running Suspended

Choosing February to run two miles every day has not been easy but I’ve now had to temporarily suspend it altogether due to weather storms ripping across the country.  The wind hasn’t abated for days so Tuesday I took the decision to just chill out a bit and let the running go for a few days. If the running becomes too hard (which it was) then there is no point trying to battle through.  Experience has taught me that I’ll end up hating the very thing I’m trying to do.  And once hate sets in it just become one dirty battle to the end.

I’d rather pick up the running again once the weather is kinder.  I like running and cycling but I don’t want to have to carefully pick routes to avoid high sided vehicles falling on me or tree branches knocking me out.  That’s no fun at all.

The last couple of days it’s been even too windy and wet for walking.  I felt frustration and disappointment in myself for not continuing until I realised the only person I was actually letting down was myself and there was no need to feel that way because I wasn’t letting myself down – I was being sensible.  Although part of me is mightily pleased I didn’t sign up in the name of a charity to get the miles completed else it would be disappointing.

In the meantime, I’ve continued to eat well and that is something.

I did feel some frustration though because my weight hasn’t moved again this week.  But in the same vein at least I haven’t increased it either.  Small, rather insignificant wins but wins all the same.

I keep reading about the behavioural science behind weight loss.  How, as humans, we tend to stick to something longer if there are triggers and rewards for eating well in the same way it works for eating poorly or having bad habits.  I see chocolate as a craving that needs support and I see alcohol as a stress reliever.  In reality, maybe I should see chocolate as more of a treat that can be had after doing something more positive (something I enjoy), like gardening or after a hike?  It shouldn’t be a way to fill me up either, if I’m feeling peckish.  And alcohol should be linked to something more sociable – so maybe enjoy it when out with others?

I wonder about crisps and dip though?  That’s a Saturday reward embedded (for years!) into a routine of housework (which I hate).  Unfortunately, I am not in a position to change the routine (it’s not within my power although goodness knows I have tried!).  I almost resent housework so once it’s done I think I feel that I’ve “earnt” my crisps and dip.  And alcohol.  And then sit on the sofa all afternoon, scrolling through social media feeds.  I eat it with houmous.  And while potatoes and chickpeas are great food sources added with salt and oil the “snack” often ends up over 500 calories.  And sure, I eat this instead of a meal so ultimately the calorie count isn’t that bad for a “meal” I haven’t included the inevitable alcohol and chocolate calories that get eaten too.  It’s a slippery slope of bad eating.

Any yet I haven’t quite worked out a solution to it yet.  I’ve tried swapping the crisps with cucumber, celery and carrots but they are not as easy to prepare as opening a bag of crisps.  There is something to be said of the routine – I’ll keep working on it.

Thank you for reading.

Photo credit – British Library A Peep at the Esquimaux; or, scenes on the ice.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.