Here Come the Diet Ads

Just a few minutes in front of the TV today I found that it soon brought the inevitable adverts for companies that can show us all just how easy it is to lose weight after Christmas.  Because of course, we’re all a) feeling guilty after consuming so much in the last few days and b) want quick solutions.  I’d also add to that c) we’re not that gullible.

I mean, the build-up of incessant advertising to Christmas was nothing but food (and perfume but that’s another story).  Every major supermarket spent millions to make sure their Christmas advert was the best (turned out it wasn’t).  Add to that home delivery take away services, fast food chains, chocolate, biscuits, and not forgetting the gravy.  Offers on meat, cheese and nuts.  And of course the alternatives for the vegans (which I praise but it’s still advertising).

We didn’t really stand a chance.  Off we went, filling our trolley’s to the brim.  In our household, we did a list of everything we decided to eat over Christmas and still came out with more alcohol.  I managed to add some fruit but on the whole, the last few days have been spent eating rather a lot of unhealthy food.  But it’s okay because it’s not only understood, it’s expected.  And now comes the diet adverts.

But we’re not stupid.  We know what we’ve eaten (mostly), and we know we’ve overindulged.  The important thing is it’s not who we are in the main.  Every day there are temptations, Christmas is no exception.  Now we’ve just got to get back in the right healthy zone again.  But we can do that without feeling despair, guilt or that we’re being denied a good time.

Change comes from within when we have both a reason and some staying power to pick the apple of the chocolate, the water over the fizzy drink.  And it comes down to a small but hugely significant detail – knowing that every time you chose something to eat, you have a choice to make.  And depending on that choice you make this time, next time and every time after that will determine just how happy and healthy we all become.

When I resented eating healthy over not so healthy choices I never lost weight or got healthier.  But when I decided to actively take control of my life and see healthier food as a choice my whole life changed.  And no, I don’t make the best choices 100% of the time.  And sometimes making the right choice is still a bummer but mostly it’s rather empowering and has longer-lasting results than the immediate pleasure from chocolate.

So that’s what I’m about to do again now Christmas is over.  Start with just one healthy choice and move on from there.  I won’t beat myself up, count calories or chuck any leftovers out.  And the more good choices you make over the next year the easier eating over Christmas becomes.  I can attest to this.  I’ve spent the last 12 months building up good habits and making positive choices.  So much so that I may have over-consumed in my pocket but my stomach hasn’t over consumed.

Ignore the diet and fitness adverts, they offer gold but often just take more of your hard-earnt money.  Invest in yourself by making the right choices next time you go shopping and next time you pick something out of the fridge.  Small positive choices add up to big positive changes.

Now I just need to ignore those holiday adverts…

Thank you for reading.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.